Listen To Kurt Cobain 1988 Demo From New Album

With the world waiting in anticipation, the powers that be have brought us a track from the Montage of Heck soundtrack, to be released on November 6th. The soundtrack will feature largely unreleased material. However, this version of “Sappy” is nothing unreleased.

This version of “Sappy”, although much different and noticeably slower and quieter, this version can be found on bootlegs occasionally as “Sad”, because the song has a much sadder tone than the other known versions of “Sappy”.

Below is the rumored tracklisting for the standard 13-track edition of the soundtrack and details on different editions:

Alternative Nation has tracked down the tracklisting for Kurt Cobain’s new solo album Montage of Heck: The Home Recordings, set for release on November 13th.

1. The Yodel Song
2. Been A Son
3. The Happy Guitar
4. Clean Up Before She Comes
5. Reverb Experiment
6. You Can’t Change Me/Burn My Britches/Something In The Way
7. Scoff
8. Desire
9. And I Love Her
10. Sappy
11. Letters To Frances
12. Frances Farmer Will Have Her Revenge On Seattle
13. She Only Lies

KURT COBAIN: MONTAGE OF HECK SUPER DELUXE EDITION and KURT COBAIN: MONTAGE OF HECK: THE HOME RECORDINGS both include the highly anticipated soundtrack, an aural complement to the documentary in both concept and experience. Comprised from various early and raw cassette recordings made by Kurt alone, the soundtrack allows a rare, unfiltered glimpse into Cobain’s creative progression from early song snippets and short demos to musical experiments and ultimately, pieces of songs or lyrics that eventually appeared on later Nirvana albums.

KURT COBAIN: MONTAGE OF HECK SUPER DELUXE EDITION will include the 2 hour plus, full-length feature film and 48 minutes of bonus interviews on Blu-ray and DVD, a 31 track deluxe soundtrack on CD and cassette, a 160-page hardbound book with extended interviews and images from the Cobain archive, a puzzle with a collectable storage container, movie poster, postcards and bookmark. The 31 track deluxe soundtrack CD is exclusively available in the Super Deluxe Edition and showcases tracks from the documentary including spoken word, demos and full songs.

KURT COBAIN – MONTAGE OF HECK: THE HOME RECORDINGS soundtrack will be released in two stand-alone physical formats: a 31 track deluxe album available on 2LP vinyl and a standard edition 13 track CD. The standard soundtrack focuses on the music discovered on Cobain’s personal cassettes. The soundtrack will also be available in standard and deluxe digital editions.



  • Go Hiomlán Mandelbrotmenge Imi

    If he had made one more album with slower acoustic tunes it would’ve been a fucking masterpiece.

  • Hwang Sunghyeop

    it’s good to hear the Nirvana’s melodic tunes. though he had made only one modic-acoustic album, that would have been a one of best alternative albums ever absolutely.

  • Eli H. Poulin
  • Felonious Punk

    To give everyone an idea of just how bad Universal is milking this thing, consider this: Mark Lanegan is releasing his five Subpop solo albums in a vinyl boxset around the same time as Montage of Heck for…$100. FIVE highly-acclaimed out of print albums from a master songwriter for $100

    Around the same time, Eels will release their entire Dreamworks records album collection in a vinyl boxset. That’s SIX rare vinyl albums plus a never-before-available on vinyl double live LP for…$120

    Compare that to a $150 boxset that gives you a CD, a cassette, a readily-available-to-bootleg documentary, a puzzle, a bookmark, a photo album and a poster.

    Milking it? Yes, I think so. Don’t support this bullshit.

    • Hwang Sunghyeop

      Usually that price went down. But that’s not the good ideas. I agree.

      • Felonious Punk

        They’ll still be fetching $100+ by the time the release date looms. It wouldn’t even be worth the asking price if they included the LP in the package. Who the fuck cares about a cassette of Kurt demos or a bookmark?

        This is as classic a case of barrel bottom scraping/price gouging as you’ll ever see

        • Hwang Sunghyeop

          I can’t say hardly you are wrong. I agree.
          It just like waiting PJ’s live bootlegs for me.

  • Raj

    Cool to hear such a slowed down version like Something in the Way. Songs like Sappy, Spank Thru, Dive, etc. should have been released as proper singles way back when.