Failure Reveal Details For ‘The Heart Is A Monster’ Album

by -

Failure will be releasing their fourth album, The Heart Is A Monster, on June 30th via INresidence. Recently, the alternative/space rock group revealed more details regarding the record including the cover artwork and tracklisting. Previously released songs “Come Crashing,” “The Focus,” and “Hot Traveler” will be included in the eighteen tracks along with the continuation of segues from 1996’s Fantastic Planet. You can click here to preorder the LP on iTunes. The full tracklisting and album cover art can be viewed below.

The band stated, “The songs on Fantastic Planet appear more or less in the order that we wrote them… when, we do a song now, we write it and record it soup-to-nuts without moving to another song… It takes longer, but it makes more sense for us artistically to explore a song completely before moving on.” Also, be sure to check out Failure’s upcoming dates with Jane’s Addiction under the tracklisting.


The Heart Is A Monster tracklisting:
1. Segue 4
2. Hot Traveler
3. A.M. Amnesia
4. Snow Angel
5. Atom City Queen
6. Segue 5
7. Counterfeit Sky
8. Petting The Carpet
9. Mulholland Drive
10. Fair Light Era
11. Segue 6
12. Come Crashing
13. Segue 7
14. The Focus
15. Otherwhere
16. Segue 8
17. I Can See Houses
18. Segue 9

Failure tour dates:
5/1 – Ventura, CA – Ventura Theater
5/2 – Mecca, CA – Desert Daze
5/18 – London, UK – The Garage
7/2 – Lawrence, KS – Liberty Hall
7/4 – Milwaukee, WI – Summerfest
7/7 – Columbus, OH – LC Pavilion Amphitheatre (with Jane’s Addiction)
7/8 – Lansing, MI – Common Ground Festival
7/10 – Pittsburgh, PA – Stage AE (with Jane’s Addiction)
7/12 – Ottawa, ON – Ottawa Bluesfest
7/14 – Quebec City, QC – Quebec City International Summer Festival

Bio: Riley began as an avid reader of the site since 2008 and made the switch to a reporter around the time of the name change to AlternativeNation in 2013. He is a fan of the grunge genre and is always exploring the depths of metal, enjoying subgenres such as industrial, progressive, alternative, doom, post, stoner, nu, and avant-garde. Riley has been playing guitar for over 6 years, been in an Alice in Chains cover band, and is currently majoring in Recording Arts/Music Production. He began the site by posting the setlists for the site and transitioned to reporting news, writing reviews, doing interviews, and running both the metal section and Modern Artists Showcase. Riley also spends his time managing local bands: Mothlight, Diamondstein, Soda Pants, and With Age.   Fun Facts: Riley went to the same high school as Eddie Vedder. Riley’s first band was called Melting Pot of Human Emotion, which later changed to Dictator Willie. Riley enjoys puppies, kittens, and listening to angsty music on rainy days.   Reach out to Riley at or
  • Shwax

    Link/URL for Ken Andrews interview no good