EXCLUSIVE REVIEW AND PHOTOS FROM LAST NIGHT’S STONE TEMPLE PILOTS SHOW IN LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA

STONE TEMPLE PILOTS LIVE AT THE NOKIA THEATRE IN LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA (OCTOBER 29, 2010)

REVIEW WRITTEN BY GRUNGEREPORT.NET OWNER BRETT BUCHANAN

I just got home from last night’s Stone Temple Pilots concert in Los Angeles.  This was the 7th time I’ve seen STP.  I previously saw them in May 2008 at the Jimmy Kimmel Show, June 2008 at the Hollywood Bowl, December 2008 at Club Nokia, July 2009 at the House of Blues Sunset Strip, May 2010 at the Jimmy Kimmel Show, and June 2010 at the KROQ Weenie Roast.  Last night’s STP show was tied with the Hollywood Bowl show for the best STP show I’ve ever been to.  When I saw the band in June Scott clearly wasn’t all there, but last night he and the band were on fire.

I arrived outside the venue at around 6:30PM and got in line, the line was very short.  I got in around 7PM and immediately got to the front, right in front of Robert DeLeo’s spot.  The opening band Black Rebel Motorcycle Club were good, the bassist was the standout member of the band.  I met a fellow die hard STP fan in the crowd from San Francisco and we talked quite a bit about the state of STP and other Grunge era bands like Soundgarden and Alice In Chains.  STP went on promptly at about 9:20PM with Crackerman.  The setlist was the standard set that STP have played during this leg of the tour.  They played Dead and Bloated, Still Remains, and Dancing Days which they have omitted at a few shows.  I spent most of the show watching Robert DeLeo play bass just feet in front of me and now after seeing him so up close I can definitely say he is the most charismatic bassist I have ever seen live.  Robert does a great job of interacting with the crowd and at times is even more energetic on stage than Scott Weiland.

Scott was in top form tonight, this was the most lively I’ve seen him since I saw STP in June 2008 and the most coherent I’ve seen him since I saw Velvet Revolver in July 2006.  Scott was definitely clean and sober.  Scott and all of the members of the band frequently smiled and cracked jokes to each other.  There was some banter but it was hard to hear, Scott said something about covering the band “STP” that didn’t make it quite as big as they did.  Robert also mentioned knowing some chick at the show and Scott pointed out somebody in the crowd.  My favorite songs of the night were Huckleberry Crumble, Dancing Days, and Silvergun Superman.  I had never seen the band play their cover of Dancing Days before and the electric version they are currently doing live is amazing.  Huckleberry Crumble was also much tighter and stronger than when I saw it twice earlier this year, it was one of the best performances of the night and you could tell the band were more into it than the other new songs.  I would say the live version I saw last night was better than the studio version.  Silvergun Superman has always been an amazing live song for STP and last night was no different.

Throughout the night I could see the children of STP’s members playing together on the side of the stage.  When STP came out for their encore Scott brought out his son Noah to do the intro for “Dead and Bloated.”  It was a very cute moment and you could tell Noah was nervous, Scott couldn’t stop smiling when Noah was on stage.  At the end of the show as the band did the group bow, all of their children came out to join the bow.  It was a great moment and for one night, all seemed right in STP land.  The band were enjoying themselves more than any other time I saw them and really seemed like they are doing STP because they enjoy it, not for a paycheck.  Also on a random note I got to high five Scott and Robert.  The place was also packed, outside of possibly the mezzanine.  Also Eric was particularly funny tonight, quite a few times I saw him and Scott interacting and smiling.  My only regret about the show is I didn’t get to see more of Dean.  Anyways, this show was the best concert I’ve been to in 2010 (STP were the best show I went to in 2008 too, while Pearl Jam were the best of 2009 for me).  If Stone Temple Pilots are hitting your town soon, see them before it all falls apart again (kidding).

Below are photos I took at the show with my iPhone, no zoom whatsoever.  The photos of Robert are my favorites.  At the end you can see all of the kids come on stage.

  • Robert

    Thanks for the review. Sounds like a good show by them. When Scott is sober it is good show. I am still yet to see them.

  • dakotablue

    I think a lot of the shows are good or great when Weiland’s on his ass, too. It’s just the question of showing up really late or maybe not at all.

  • Lissa

    thanks for the review. I last saw STP in 2008, had front row tix, I have to say it was one of the best concerts I have ever been too. I am hoping these guys do some international dates next year so I can see them again!

  • Steph

    I will always love STP. I don’t know why I didn’t go see them this time around. I will for sure next time, and it sounds like I will get that chance. You did a great job on the review and your pics kick ass, Brett!!

  • Ryan

    brett’s the man! STP too!